The Bark of the Bog Owl
by Jonathan Rogers Jonathan Rogers

The Wilderking Trilogy: Book One

From BookPage:

“The Bark of the Bog Owl is a top-notch addition to fantasy literature. The first volume in an anticipated Wilderking trilogy, this stirring and richly imagined story should attract a faithful following of young readers.”

From School Library Journal:

“Roger’s writing is terrifically appealing. The adventure and the humor are first rate. Fans of ‘Narnia’ will find this just to their taste, and will look forward to future installments.”

From Publisher’s Weekly:

“Unusual settings and characters keep the surprises coming, while Rogers’s lovely descriptions and distinctive voice keep the pages turning.”

Courage and a heart for adventure drive twelve-year-old shepherd boy Aidan Errolson. When the bark of the bog owl echoes from the forest across his father’s well-tended pastures, Aidan dreams of wild places still untamed and quests not yet pursued.

Aidan’s life changes forever on the day Bayard the Truthspeaker arrives at Longleaf with an astonishing pronouncement: it is Aidan’s destiny to be the Wilderking, who will ascend to the throne from Corenwald’s wildest places. Only the Wilderking can balance his people’s civilizing impulses with the wildness that gives Corenwald its vitality. But not just yet. Many trials and adventures will shape the shaggy-headed shepherd boy into the man who can bring the kingdom back to its former glory.

  • The Bark of the Bog Owl
  • The Bark of the Bog Owl
    Wilderking Bundle (All 3 books)

Comments & Reviews

The Bark of the Bog Owl
  • Recommended readers ages 10 and older